Hello all!

Well, there’s no denying it; this blog has been sorely neglected. There’s lots of excuses for that – they all boil down to “I’ve been horrifically busy” –  but rather than bore you with the exact details, I thought I’d give you a short news update.

The first is very nice news indeed. I was fortunate enough to to win the New Talent Category Award for Research and Knowledge Communication in the 2013 Illustration Awards. Run by the Association of Illustrators, the awards cover all of the UK, with a significant number of international entries. Apparently the number of entrants this year was very high,  the shortlists were evidently long, so I’m very gratified that  The Showman’s Yard in the East End of Glasgow met the judges’ approval.

Myself and Mrs Dialectographer will be heading down to the awards ceremony in early October to get as glam as doodlers generally get.  As well as picking up my new mantelpiece ornament, I will be eligible for the overall New Talent award across all the categories. To be honest though, I’m just delighted to get this one!

There’s a lot of updates to give you on my current projects, but I have exciting plans for how that will be done, so I’m going to hold off just a tad longer. I’ve been working with the artist Chris Leslie to completely redesign and structure this site. This will bring better support for visuals, zoomable dialectograms and webcomics, as well as dedicated pages for my current projects.

The new site will be up in late August/early September. In the meantime, please keep up with me on twitter @Dialectographer and enjoy the rest of your summer.

best wishes and thanks for following,

Mitch